12 Congress MLAs headed by Leader of opposition Dr. Mukul Sangma quits Congress and join TMC


As many as 12 Congress MLAs led by leader of opposition and Congress Legislative Party leader Dr. Mukul Sangma quit Congress and joined All India Trinamool Congress.

An inside source from Congress reveals that Dr. Sangma along with 11 other Congress legislators submitted their letter to speaker Metbah Lyngdoh on Wednesday evening.

“We have quit Congress and have joined TMC, we are having a press Conference tomorrow at 1:30 pm to announce this,” a close aide of Dr. Mukul Sangma said.

Among those who joined TMC are all the eight legislators from Garo Hills and four legislators from Khasi Jaintia hills.

Along with Dr. Mukul Sangma, those who joined TMC are Zenith M Sangma (Rangsakona), Dikkanchi D Shira (Mahendraganj), Miani D Shira (Ampati), Winnerson D Sangma (Salmanpara), Marthon D Sangma (Mendipathar), Jimmy D Sangma (Tikrikilla) and Lazarus Sangma (Chokpot).

From Khasi-Jaintia Hills region, those who quit the Congress include Charles Pyngrope (Nongthymmai), George B Lyngdoh (Umroi), Himalaya Shangpliang (Mawsynram) and Shitlang Pale (Sutnga Saipung).

With this despite not winning a single seat in 2018 Assembly election, the All India Trinamool Congress became principal opposition party in Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

Congress which so far had 17 legislators, with the defection of these 12 legislators, now has been reduced to only five.