13 counting centres will be there across Meghalaya

The counting of votes for the 59 out of 60 Meghalaya assembly seats will be held on March 2. Chief Electoral Officer FR Kharkongor on Monday said a total of 13 counting centres will be there across the state.

Addressing Media, Kharkongor informed the counting will start at 8am on March 2nd.

“We have 22 companies that have been retained by the police for guarding of the strong room and also for post polls contingencies,” he informed.

A total of 27 counting observers and 549 micro observers have also been deployed by the Election Commission.


“We also have arrangement of the VVPAT counting booth wherein 5 polling stations will be taken at random for counting of the VVPAT slips to cross check the figures whether they tally or not in the control unit and the VVPAT slips,” he said. According to him, the counting of the postal ballots will precedes the counting of the control units.


error: Content is protected !!