Three more sitting legislators- Hamlet Dohling (Mylliem LAC), Samlin Malngiang (Sohiong LAC) and Jason Sawkmie (Umsning LAC), on Thursday resigned as members of the 11th Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

While legislators Hamletson Dohling (Mylliem) and Jason Sawkmie Mawlong (Umsning) are the sitting legislators from People’s Democratic Front (PDF), the third legislator Samlin Malngiang (Sohiong) is from Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP), as predicted all three are set to join the ruling National People’s Party (NPP)

The trio submitted their resignation letters to the Speaker here this afternoon.

With barely a month left for the poll, the legislators are in resigning and joining spree.

With this altogether, ten legislators have so far resigned ahead of the elections reducing the strength of the House of 60 to 50.

Talking to reporters, Hamletson Dohling, cabinet Minister in the Conrad Sangma led MDA Government said the decision was taken based on the request of the leaders from the different villages of Mylliem and on the recommendation of the core committee. “Accordingly, as a leader I have to listen to them and I decide to resign today to join the NPP,” he said.

He will be joining NPP on January 7th.

Another PDF (resigned) MLA Jason Sawkmie Mawlong (Umsning) said it was the collective decision of his supporters.

“We want to ensure stability in the government so that we can serve the people of the state better,” he said.

Meanwhile, HSPDP legislator Samlin Malngiang (Sohiong) said, he has nothing against the party but they want to ensure that the NPP gets absolute majority to lead the government.

“We have faced lots of problems in a coalition government. Therefore, it is high time that only one party should be given the mandate to rule the state,” he added.

HSPDP won only two seats in the 2018 Assembly polls, the other MLA Renikton Lyngdoh Tongkhar will too leave the party.

Earlier, two NPP legislators – Ferlin CA Sangma (Selsella) and Benedic Marak (Raksamgre) – had resigned and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The others include – Ampareen Lyngdoh (East Shillong), Mohendro Rapsang (West Shillong), Kimfa S Marbaniang (Rambrai-Jyrngam) all three joined NPP, while sitting legislator from NPP SG Esmatur Mominin (Phulbari constituency) joined AITC  and Himalaya Shangpliang (Mawsynram) from AITC joined BJP.





By Editor