Bypoll to 3 Assembly seats in Meghalaya on 30th Oct, counting on Nov 2


The Election Commission of India on Tuesday announced by-elections to the three Assembly constituencies of Meghalaya. The much awaited bypolls for the Mawryngkneng, Rajabala and Mawphlang is schedule for 30th of October.

According to the notification issued by the Election Commission, the date of poll will be 30 October and the votes will be counted on 2 November.

Date of issue of Gazette notification is 1st October, while, the last date for nominations is 08 October, date of scrutiny of nomination is 11 October and withdrawal of candidature 16th October.

The Commission has decided to hold these bye-elections to fill vacant seats in these three constituencies.

Mawryngkneng constituency is yet to have an MLA despite the six months period having ended on August 2.

The constituency has remained vacant without the representative since February 2 this year, the day when Congress MLA, David A Nongrum has passed away.

Similarly, another constituency, Rajabala, has been without an MLA since March 4 this year after the demise of Congress MLA, Dr Azad Zaman. The six months period for Rajabala constituency ended on September 4.

Recently felt vacant was Mawphlang constituency, earlier this month on September 10th, its legislator Syntar Klas Sunn passed away.

Sunn contested and won the 2018 Assembly elections as an independent candidate. He later joined as associate member of the United Democratic Party (UDP) which is the main ally of the National People’s Party-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government.