Cabinet portfolios Reshuffle

CM Conrad Sangma. Pic Courtesy Twitter.

Following cabinet Reshuffle, Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma has gone for portfolio reshuffle as well.

Making changes in the departments, the chief Minister allocated portfolios to two of the newly inducted Ministers, while he kept key departments with himself.


Interestingly, after the allegation of fund misappropriation in Garo Hills Autonomous District Council was levied by BJP, the Chief Minister has allocated the department of District Council Affairs to Home Minister Lakhmen Rymbui, in addition to education and border areas development.


In a major reshuffle, another key department Food Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs which was earlier with Chief Minister Conrad Sangma’ elder brother James Sangma is now being allocated to Deputy Chief Minister Prestone Tynsong.


Tynsong will be burdened with seven departments which include PWD (Roads), Housing, Labour, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, Parliamentary Affairs, Cooperation Department apart from Food Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs.

The Forest & Environment department was allocated to James K Sangma. Lahkmen Rymbui, who was in charge of the department, was given the District Council Affairs (DCA).


James will also continue to look after the power, law, IPR and taxation departments.


The charge of the urban affairs & municipal administration departments was given to Sniawbhalang Dhar. Hamletson Dohling wil now look after the Community & Rural Development and Soil & Water Conservation departments.


Dhar will continue to be incharge of commerce & industries and transport.


According to a government notification, Alexander Laloo Hek will be continuing with his existing portfolios including health.


According to the notification, Kyrmen Shylla was given the charge of the excise department, while Banteidor Lyngdoh will continue to look after the agriculture and farmers’ welfare, horticulture, sports & youth affairs and textile departments.


Brolding Nonsiej will also continue with his existing portfolios that include Home (Civil Defence and Home Guards, water resources, printing & stationery departments.


Renikton was given Legal Metrology, Public Health Engineering, Secretariat Administration Department portfolio while Dasakhiat was given charge of the Fisheries, General Administration Department and Public Works Department (Buildings), which were earlier held by the dropped ministers — Samlin Malngiang and Comingone Ymbon.


Meanwhile, apart from finance, planning home (political), cabinet affairs, and personnel & AR, departments which are not allocated to other ministers will be with the Chief Minister. EOM