Congress declares first list of 17 candidates for GHADC poll

PIC by Meghalaya News 24.

The opposition Congress has announced its first list of candidates for the upcoming elections to the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC), slated for April 9.

In the first list, the names of 17 candidates are accommodated as the list was approved by the Meghalaya Pradesh Election Committee (MPEC) during its meeting held on Monday.

Among the 17 candidates, one is a female. Sadhia Rani M Sangma will be contesting from Dengnakpara constituency.

The other candidates include Kenadick S Marak from Siju constituency, Freedarson N Sangma – Wagesik, Willy D Shira – Silkigre, Dipur Sangma – Rangrikkimgre, Olendro R Marak – Gasuapara, Sarbha R Marak – Barengapara, Nehru D Sangma – Amongpara, Mrinal R Marak – Naguapara, Kunal Ch Momin – Tura, Adamkid M Sangma – Asanang, Kansan Sangma – Nogorpara, Rinaldo K Sangma – Rongrong, Pardinand D Shira – Damas, Cherak Watre Momin – Kharkutta, Rapiush Ch Sangma – Darugre and Alphonsush R Marak – Williamnagar.

Expressing his gratefulness following the selection of six youth Congress leaders  in the first list of candidates for the upcoming GHADC poll, Youth Congress President Richard M Marak said, “We thank the party leadership for putting faith in Youth Congress by selecting 6 (six) candidates from Youth Congress for the GHADC elections in the 1st round of candidate selection proving once again the commitment towards inclusivity & creating a new generation of leaders.”