Governor Phagu Chauhan on Friday invited the National People’s Party (NPP) to form the government in the state.  


This was informed by NPP national president and newly elected parliamentary party leader Conrad K Sangma after meeting the Governor at Raj Bhavan and submitted his resignation as chief minister.


He was accompanied by the NPP MLAs, 2 BJP MLAs, Sanbor Shullai and AL Hek, and 1 Independent MLA of Baghmara Kartush R Marak.


Sangma informed that the NPP will immediately submit the list of MLAs by evening. According to him, most of the NPP MLAs are still on their way to Shillong since the results were declared just yesterday.

Earlier, Conrad held meeting with NPP legislators, the alliance partner BJP and an independent from Baghmara Kartus Marak was also present.

Talking to reporters after the meeting, the NPP National President said, “Today we had meeting with the partners including NPP mainly, BJP and Independent from Baghmara, so right now we are 29 from different independent and political parties.”

Asked about the political parties supporting him, Sangma refuse to divulge details but claimed he has numbers.

 NPP national vice president and Pynursla legislator Prestone Tynsong announced the decision of the party to re-elect Conrad K Sangma of South Tura as the parliamentary party leader.


Interestingly, NPP’s former ally UDP is keeping itself away from the new combination.

By Editor