Meghalaya Govt appoints 21 MLAs as chairmen, co-chairmen and advisers

The National People’s Party-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance-2 government has appointed 21 MLAs as chairmen, co-chairmen and advisers of the different departments.

 These appointments were made to accommodate the legislators within the party and the political parties supporting the Government. 

UDP chief Metbah Lyngdoh has been appointed as chairman of the Meghalaya State Planning Board while former cabinet minister Lahkmen Rymbui as chief adviser to the Government of Meghalaya.


The other MLAs includes LD Sangma – chairman of Meghalaya Resources & Employment Generation Council, JD Sangma – chairman of Meghalaya Economic Development Council, Jim M Sangma – chairman of Forest Development Corporation Ltd, IBK Sangma – adviser to the Government of Meghalaya on Forest department, Brenning A Sangma – chairman of State Government Programme Implementation & Monitoring Committee, AB Marak – Meghalaya State Development Resource Commission, Banteidor Lyngdoh – adviser to the Government of Meghalaya on Agriculture & Farmers Welfare department, PR Marak – chairman, State Level Public Grievances Committee, Sanbor Shullai – chairman, Meghalaya Tourism Development Corporation Ltd, D Lamare – Chairman, Meghalaya State Housing Board, MB Kurbah – co-chairman, Meghalaya State Planning Board, Mayralborn Syiem – chairman, Meghalaya State Health Advisory Board, RG Momin – chairman, Meghalaya Mineral Development Corporation Ltd, Rupert Momin – chairman, Meghalaya New & Renewable Energy Development Agency, MJ Sangma – adviser to the Power department, Gavin Mylliem – adviser to the Health department, P Marwein – co-chairman, Meghalaya Government Construction Corporation Ltd, KR Marak – chairman, Meghalaya Government Construction Corporation Ltd and Subir Marak – chairman, Meghalaya Khadi & Village Industries Board. 

Interestingly, of these legislators, 10 were elected from from Garo Hills on NPP ticket, while one independent legislator Kartus R Marak, who supported the Government from the beginning is rewarded  as the chairman, Meghalaya Government Construction Corporation Ltd.  From  Khasi Jaintia Hills, 10 legislators from different political parties are also accommodated as  political appointees.

error: Content is protected !!