POLL 2023: 5 sitting legislators likely to join NPP, 4 to join UDP


As many as nine sitting legislators are likely to join the ruling parties before the upcoming 2023 Meghalaya election. While four sitting legislators are showing their allegiance to United Democratic Party (UDP), five MLAs are eyeing National People’s Party (NPP) ticket.

As per the report, out of the five suspended Congress legislators, three are parting with National People’s Party (NPP), while two are likely to join UDP.

Interestingly, the opposition All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) may have to lose four of its legislators as two legislators from Khasi Jaintia Hills are likely to join UDP, while two from Garo Hills may seek NPP tickets.

According to the sources, former Congress Legislative Party (CLP) leader Ampareen Lyngdoh, along with MLAs – Kimfa S Marbaniang (Rambrai-Jyrngam) and Mohendro Rapsang (West Shillong) are likely to join NPP.

While suspended Congress legislators, PT Sawkmie (Mawlai) and Mayralborn Syiem (Nongpoh) will join UDP.

Amongst the AITC leaders, two legislators from Khasi Jaintia Hills Himalaya Shangpliang and Shitlang Pale may join UDP, while from Garo Hills, Marthon Sangma and Jimmy D Sangma are planning to join NPP.

Earlier, All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) National General Secretary Abhishek Banerjee who was in Assam yesterday, while reacting to report of few AITC legislators leaving the party ahead of the Assembly polls in Meghalaya said, “Whether five will leaves, or 10, or 15 or 2 leaves, that will come later, the party don’t run depending on an individual if someone wants they will come, if someone wants they will go it’s not only in Meghalaya but similar things you have seen during Bengal election as well, that happens in all the elections.”

Asked he said, “People are leaving BJP, even MPs are leaving BJP, you all have seen. So this happens in all the political parties in all the elections and this is a baseless issue but Trinamool congress will contest Meghalaya election with all its might.”