Five sitting MLAs to join UDP on Wednesday

As many as five sitting legislators will join the United Democratic Party (UDP) on Wednesday. This was informed by UDP President Metbah Lyngdoh.

Talking to reporters, Lyngdoh, who is also the Speaker of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, said that the party will declare its third list of candidates on Wednesday.

“Day after tomorrow (Wednesday) they will be joining the party, then we will have the induction programme and at the same time we will announce the names of these five legislators as our candidates,” Lyngdoh said.


The five sitting legislators who will resign as the last batch includes cabinet Minister and legislator from Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) Renikton Lyngdoh Tongkhar, Trinamool Congress MLA, Shitlang Pale, suspended Congress legislators Mayralborn Syiem and PT Sawkmie and Independent MLA, Lambor Malngiang.


With the unbridled political defection and resignation of legislators, so far 13 sitting legislators quit as members of 11th Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, however, with the resignation of five more on Wednesday,  this number will go upto 18, thereby, reducing the strength of the House of 60 to 42 ahead of the elections.

Meanwhile, in the first list UDP announced names of 32 candidates and in the second list the party featured two more candidates from Garo Hills. So far UDP in its two lists have declared 34 candidates.

The UDP President said the party has identified candidates in another 15 seats.

He also informed that the party is working on its manifesto which will be out soon.

“We are at the stage of finalising the manifesto,” he added.

error: Content is protected !!