NPP announces name of 58 candidates for Meghalaya Assembly polls

The National People’s Party on Wednesday announced the name of the 58 candidates for the upcoming election in the State of Meghalaya at an election meeting titled – “Stronger Together” held at Polo Grounds, Shillong.


In the list of 58 candidates, 25 were the members of the 11th Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, including eight sitting legislators who resigned from other political parties and joined NPP and 19 are from NPP.


National President Conrad K. Sangma will be NPP’s candidate from 51 South Tura Legislative Assembly constituency,


Other 18 NPP MLAs in the list includes deputy chief minister Prestone Tynsong (Pynursla), cabinet ministers – Sniawbhalang Dhar (Nartiang), James PK Sangma (Dadenggre) and Dasakhiatbha Lamare (Nongkrem) – Wailadmiki Shylla (Jowai), Comingone Ymbon (Raliang), Sosthenes Sohtun (Jirang), Pyniaid Sing Syiem (Mawryngkneng), Gigur Myrthong (Mawshynrut), Timothy D Shira (Resubelpara), Rupert M Momin (Kharkutta), Pongseng R Marak (Bajengdoba), Jim M Sangma (Rongjeng), Marcuise N Marak (Williamnagar), Abdus Saleh (Rajabala), Thomas K Sangma (North Tura), Rakkam A Sangma (Rongara-Siju), Brening A Sangma (Dalu).



The eight legislators who joined the party recently include Dr M Ampareen Lyngdoh (East Shillong), Mohendro Rapsang (West Shillong),  Hamletson Dohling (Mylliem), Samlin Malngiang (Sohiong), Kimfa Sydney Marbaniang (Rambrai-Jyrngam), Marthon J Sangma (Mendipathar), Jimmy D Sangma (Tikrikilla), Jason Sawkmie Mawlong (Umsning),




The former MLAs who will be contesting from the party are Nehlang Dhar (Khliehriat), Stephanson Mukhim (Amlarem), Kennedy Cornelius Khyriem (Mawphlang), Martin M Danggo (Ranikor), Abu Taher Mondal (Phulbari), Nihim D Shira (Songsak),




Four MDCs – Macdalyne Sawkmie Mawlong (Nongpoh), Teibor Pathaw (Mawlai), Alvin K Sawkmie (Mawsynram), Grace Mary Kharpuri (Shella) are also among the candidates.




The other female candidates are Santa Mary Shylla (Saipung-Sutnga), Dr Jasmine Lyngdoh (Nongthymmai), Biolinda Lyngdoh Nonglait (Mawthadraishan),




The other candidates also include Habahun Dhar (Mowkaiaw), Shemphang Lyngdoh (Mawhati), Damanbait Lamare (Umroi), Rocky Hek (Pynthorumkhrah), Ransom Sutnga (North Shillong), Alan West (Sohra), H Stalyne Diengdoh (Mawkyrwat), Arbinstone Marak (Selsella), Subir Marak (Rangsakona), Stevie M Marak (Ampati), Sanjay A Sangma (Mahendraganj), Ian Botham K sangma (Salmanpara), Rakesh A Sangma (Gambegre), Sengchim N Sangma (Chokpot) and Satto R Marak (Baghmara).


On this occasion, the National President of NPP Conrad K. Sangma released the document titled “Promises Delivered” which highlights the promises made during the 2018 election and achievements of the NPP led Government in the State.


Addressing the gathering, NPP National President Conrad K Sangma termed the 2023 election as very crucial, and said as the State goes for polls in the 51st year of Statehood, it is imperative that a party with a vision is given the opportunity to lead the State.


Asking each one to question themselves why the State needs a full majority government, the NPP chief said that this year will lay the foundation for the next 50 years and a full majority government will ensure that the dreams and aspirations of the people are taken forward.


“We as citizens of the State have to come together and repose our faith in NPP, which has proved to the people by fulfilling the promises in the last five years,” he said.


He further said that people of the State are eagerly waiting to vote as they want a strong government, a government that delivers. “I am sure that people will repose their faith in NPP once again to fulfil their dream for a new Meghalaya,” he added.


He said that the NPP led Government had the wisdom and the courage to take forward the discussion of inter-State border differences and take the issue to its logical conclusion. He also asserted that it is only the NPP which can resolve the border issue completely with Assam.


error: Content is protected !!