Till 3 PM 63.91 % voters turned out reported

Election to the Meghalaya Assembly held on Monday, February 27. Although till the filing of this report the voting continued in several polling stations.

Voting began at 7 am with 369 candidates including 36 women in the fray. Election results will be declared on March 2.

Till 3 PM 63.91 percent voters turned out reported.

NPP National President Conrad Sangma, TMC Parliamentary Party leader DR Mukul Sangma are amongst the key candidates in the fray.

While in the khasi Jaintia Hills it’s a multi corner fight, in Garo Hills it looks mainly between NPP and TMC although BJP and Congress are not too far.

Incumbent Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said ” In south Tura, this kind of turn out in the past, it’s a good sign it’s good for democracy.” He expressed confidence that the wave is in favour of the NPP.

“Its (wave) is positive , we are very confident it will be in our favour,” he added.

He said not all those who turn up for the PM’s rally will convert into votes.

TMC Vice President and candidate from Rangsakona Zenith M Sangma, Meghalaya TMC Candidate from Salmanpara Winnerson D Sangma, UDP president from Mairang Metbah Lyngdoh cast their votes. Meghalaya TMC president and candidate from Nongthymmai constituency Charles Pyngrope, Five time BJP MLA and candidate from Pynthorumkhrah constituency AL Hek, State BJP president Ernest Mawrie, NPP candidate James Sangma, BJP candidate from South Tura Bernard Marak,  UDP candidate from Amlarem Lahkmen Rymbui, NPP candidate from Nartiang Sniawbhalang Dhar, TMC candidate from Umroi George Lyngdoh, Congress candidate from Gambegre Saleng Sangma are some of the key faces.


error: Content is protected !!