The All-India Trinamool Congress (AITC), on Wednesday, announced the second list of candidates for the forthcoming Meghalaya Assembly elections, 2023.

The names of three more candidates were featured in the second list.

The candidates include Robinus Syngkon (3-Raliang ST constituency), Longsing Bey ( 9-Nongpoh ST) and Stepbourne Kuper Ryndem (15-Mawlai ST).

Earlier on January 6, the party had announced the names of 52 candidates in the first list, of which five were women candidates.

With this the total number of candidates announced by AITC so far is 55. However, pitching for a clean politics in Pynthorumkhrah constituency, Samborlang Diengdoh, TMC’s candidate from Pynthorumkhrah, has decided to contest as an independent. With this development, the party has 54 candidates.

Stating that he does not subscribe to the mudslinging by the different political parties, and wants to play no party in it, Diengdoh clarified that he has nothing against the leadership of the TMC.


By Editor